Home | A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Orders

Main Game Concept, Journeys in the Dark

Rules

(see JITD, p. 14-15)

When a hero chooses to take a ready action at the beginning of his turn (see “Hero Player’s Turn,” page 8) he may place one of his four orders (aim, dodge, guard, or rest) face up next to his hero on the board.

A hero can only have one order at any one time. A hero that has already been issued an order cannot receive another order until the first order is used or removed (see below).

Once an order has been used or removed, it is returned to the player’s supply of orders. Each order may be reused throughout the game.

Aim

A hero that has placed an aim order may make an aimed attack.

Before the hero rolls dice for an attack, he may use the aim order to declare that he is making an aimed attack. This allows him to re-roll any number of dice after rolling for the attack (including any dice showing the “miss” result). The hero must keep the second result.

Example: A hero declares that he is making an aimed attack with a weapon that rolls a red and a green die (and 2 power dice, thanks to the hero’s trait). He rolls the dice, but the red die comes up as a miss, so he chooses to re-roll the red die (keeping the other dice results). Whatever he rolls, the hero is stuck with the second result.

An aim order stays with a hero until removed by one of the following events: 1) the hero takes one or more wounds, 2) the hero moves one or more spaces, 3) the hero changes his equipped items, or 4) the hero uses the order to make an aimed attack.

Note: The ready action allows a hero to place an order and either move his speed or make an attack. The hero can place the order at any time during his turn. Thus, a hero may place an aim order and then make an aimed attack, all in one turn.

Dodge

A hero that has placed a dodge order may, when attacked, force his attacker (usually the overlord player) to re-roll any number of dice rolled for the attack. The hero player may only do this once for each attack, and must accept the second result.

Example: A hero has placed a dodge order and is later attacked by a Razorwing. The overlord player rolls one red die and one green die. The hero can force the overlord to re-roll either one or both of the attack dice, but he can only do this once per attack.

A dodge order stays with a hero until the start of his next turn, which means that he can “dodge” multiple attacks.

Important: If an aimed attack is made against a target that has placed a dodge order, both abilities are ignored for that attack.

Guard

A hero that has placed a guard order may make an interrupt attack.

At any point during the overlord player’s turn (not during a hero’s turn), a hero may use his guard order to immediately “interrupt” the overlord player’s turn and make one attack (following all the normal rules for line of sight and attacking). The overlord player’s turn is immediately halted (even if the overlord player was about to attack with a monster), allowing the hero to resolve his interrupt attack. After the interrupt attack is completed and any casualties are removed, the overlord player may continue his turn.

The overlord player must allow for an interrupt attack at any time, and must reverse any movement/attack if it was made too fast for the hero player to have a chance to declare an interrupt attack. If a hero player declines to make an interrupt attack, however, he may not change his mind later.

A guard order stays with a hero until removed by one of the following events: 1) the hero takes one or more wounds, 2) the beginning of the hero’s next turn, or 3) the hero uses the order to make an interrupt attack.

Rest

A hero that has placed a rest order may use it at the start of his next turn to return his fatigue to its maximum value (see “Spending Fatigue” ). A hero’s maximum fatigue value is the starting value printed on his hero sheet, plus any additional fatigue granted by skills and abilities.

A rest order stays with a hero until removed by one of the following events: 1) the hero takes one or more wounds, or 2) the beginning of the hero’s next turn, when it is used to restore the hero’s fatigue.

Home | A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z