Hordes of the Things
I - Rules
(see FAQ 1.3, p. 7)
There are 2 identical copies of the Hordes of the Things card in Journeys in the Dark.
|Card Type :||Power|
|Threat Cost :||18|
|Treachery Cost :||-|
|Discard Value :||5|
|Effect :||Play this card at the start of your turn and place it face up in front of you. When you reveal a new area, place your choice of: 2 extra Beastmen, 2 extra Skeletons, or 2 extra Bane Spiders adjacent to any other monster in the revealed area.|
II - Tactic
a) Overlord's Tactic
Like most other Power cards, it is best played in the early stage of a quest. Check how many areas have been explored so far and how many still haven't been revealed. If 4 areas or more are still unrevealed, it might be worth it. If not, this card still has a good discard value of 5.
If there are no monsters in a newly-revealed area, does the Hordes of the Things power take effect?
Can the Overlord place the second monster granted by Hordes of the Things adjacent only to the first monster, which is in turn adjacent to a revealed monster? Is the Overlord allowed to place the granted monsters outside of the newly-revealed area if one of the newly-revealed monsters is adjacent to a previously-revealed area?
Each monster is placed individually next to a revealed monster. Each monster must be placed next to a monster which was on the board before the Overlord used the Hordses of Things effect on the newly revealed area