Home | A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Glyphs of Transport

Prop, Journeys in the Dark

I - Rules

(see JITD, p. 17-18; FAQ, p. 5)

Unactivated Glyph of Transport - Descent: Journeys in the Dark Activated Glyph of Transport - Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Glyphs allow a hero to move between the glyph and the town for one movement point.

Glyphs must first be activated before they can be used. They are initially placed on the board with their red (inactivated) side up. Once a hero moves through a space containing a glyph, the glyph is flipped over to its white (activated) side and the heroes gain three conquest tokens.

A hero may only use a glyph once per turn. He may not use a glyph to go to town and then return, or vice versa.

Glyphs are not items and cannot be picked up or moved.

Can a monster end its movement on or be spawned on to a glyph of transport?

Monsters can end their movement on or be spawned on to unactivated glyphs, but cannot end their movement on or be spawned on to activated glyphs. If a monster is on an activated glyph, the overlord must move it off the glyph on his next turn, if possible. Monsters can always move through or attack into spaces containing glyphs.

Road to Legend

In the Advanced Campaign, glyphs of transport work differently than in a standard game of Descent. When a hero activates a glyph of transport, the heroes receive 3 conquest tokens as normal. However, to move through an activated glyph, a hero must begin his turn on or adjacent to it. Then, rather than being placed on the town marker (which is not used at all in the Advanced Campaign), the hero returns to Tamalir. A hero returning in this way is placed in the building of his choice, and may immediately claim the benefits of “restocking” there. See “Cities and Buildings” and “Using Buildings” for more information. On the hero’s following turn, he may either return to any activated glyph of transport for one movement point (as normal), or restock in Tamalir again, in the same building or another one.

Home | A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z