Knocked Out

When a hero is defeated, he immediately suffers fatigue up to his Stamina, damage up to his Health (if defeated by some other effect), and the controlling player removes his figure from the map, replacing it with one of his hero tokens. The hero player discards any Condition cards he has and the overlord player may immediately draw one Overlord card.
A hero cannot use skills or abilities while knocked out, unless an effect specifically allows it.

Heroes cannot suffer fatigue past their Stamina value, nor damage past their Health value—even when knocked out. A knocked out hero cannot receive any Condition cards and is immune to all attacks and most hero abilities.

A space containing a knocked out hero (represented by a hero token) is considered to be empty to other figures for the purposes of movement. In other words, any figure may move through and end its movement in that space. Also, knocked out heroes do not block line of sight.

Unless revived by another hero, a knocked out hero may only perform one action on his next turn, and that action must be to stand back up (see “Stand Up” on page 10).

A knocked out hero may still recover damage from other heroes through the use of skills, potions, and being revived (see “Revive a Hero” on page 10). If a knocked out hero recovers at least one damage, he immediately replaces his hero token with his figure and may perform actions as normal on his next turn.

Errata and FAQ Version 1.0

Q: What happens when a hero is defeated during his turn?
A: If a hero is defeated during his own turn, that hero’s turn immediately ends.

Q: Can a knocked out hero do anything after standing up during his turn?
A: After performing a stand up action, the hero’s turn immediately ends. This means the hero cannot suffer any fatigue to gain movement points or use any other skills or abilities.

Q: If a hero is knocked out, does he have to stand up during his turn?
A: A hero is not required to perform any actions on his turn. If a hero is knocked out, he can choose to remain knocked out by not performing any actions, thus ending his turn.

3 thoughts on “Knocked Out

  1. “A knocked out hero may still recover damage from other heroes through the use of skills, potions, and being revived (see “Revive a Hero” on page 10). If a knocked out hero recovers at least one damage…”

    What exactly does this mean? It almost seems like it’s saying all I need to do to revive someone is use the Disciple’s Prayer and *poof* they’re alive again. Maybe I’m just confused.

    • Thats correct. You can revive any hero with the Disciple Prayer, or with the Spiritspeaker Drain Spirits, or with a life potion…

  2. Can a knocked out hero recover fatigue? For instance if you rested, then died on your second action (e.g. falling in a pit), would you recover all your stamina at the end of the turn?

Comments are closed.